Skip to McMaster Navigation Skip to Site Navigation Skip to main content
McMaster logo

Arts & Science Program

The New World of Work Series

Bruce MiyashitaEvents and initiatives taking place under the “New World of Work” banner are funded through a generous gift by Arts & Science alumnus Bruce Miyashita. Since its inception, this gift has supported meaningful opportunities for groups of Arts & Science students to gain hands-on project management experience, and has enabled a wide-range of speakers and presenters (often Artsci alumni) to interact with current students on topics that reflect the world of work in the 21st century.

From 2017-18 to 2021-22, the gift supported the New World of Work Forum. In 2022-23, four students collaboratively conducted a stocktaking exercise to help plan for the future of the gift. In the same year, a panel event brought students, alumni, and others together to discuss equity and justice in the workplace. Beginning in 2023-24, the gift will support 2-3 workshops, panels, or networking events per year, under the title of the New World of Work Series. Collectively, these initiatives have aimed to provide invaluable networking and skill-building opportunities for Arts & Science students, to give them a broader and deeper understanding of the new world of work, including in the business world, and to inspire them to think about the many ways in which business, humanities, the sciences, and other disciplines are interconnected and mutually synergistic.

Information Box Group

2024 Generative AI in the Workplace Event Learn More

The 2024 New World of Work Series event: Generative AI in the Workplace took place on 7 March 2024.

2024 Student Organizing Team: Ella Boich, Lina Eltom Mohamed and Airo Marsh.

Attendees participated in roundtable discussions that explored the impact and influence of AI within fields such as AI tech, business/consulting, creative industries, education, healthcare, law, and public service. Table discussions were facilitated by Nathan Cupido, Rachel Guitman, Yasa Ibragimova, Effie Lin, Bruce Miyashita, Nick Romano, Dr. Mat Savelli, Duoaud Shah, and Rachelle Zalter.

2022-23 Stocktaking Exercise and Panel Event

The 2022-23 Stocktaking Exercise took place in Winter-Spring 2023.

The 2022-23 Student Stocktaking Team: Oyin Aderibigbe, Lina Eltom Mohamed, Sadie MacDonald, Maia Poon.

The 2022-23 Panel on Equity & Justice in the Workplace took place on 14 March 2023 in the LR Wilson Concert Hall, followed by a networking reception for Arts & Science students, alumni, and other attendees in the Waller Lobby.

The 2022-23 Workplace Equity & Justice Event Panelists: Judith Fudge, Bruce Miyashita, Wade Poziomka.


2022 Forum Learn More

The 2021-22 Forum took place virtually (Hopin) Mon. 7 Feb. to Fri. 11 Feb. 2022 (Click below to see full schedule).

The 2021-22 Student Project Management Team: Serena Balzer, Anitra Bowman, Sanjana Shah, and Elizaveta Zvereva.

The 2021-22 Forum Alumni Participants: Stephanie Bertolo, Sunanna Bhasin, Robert Brookfield, Claire Browne, Meg Casson, Heather Cohen, Nathan Cupido, Cassandra Devenyi, Lily Green, Michael Hewlett, Michelle Hudson, Kathleen Huth, Caitlin Jago, Evan Jones, Alexis Karasiuk, Ian McIntosh, Dan Milisavljevic, Bruce Miyashita, Emma Mulholland, Rhea Murti, Melissa Paglialunga, Sophie Roher, Sarah Sandor, Josiah Schaafsma, Nadia Stuewer, Chioma Ume, Desiree Valadares, Catherine Wiebe, Gil Yaron

2021 Forum Learn More

The 2020-21 Forum took place virtually (Microsoft Teams) Sun. 17 Jan. to Sat. 23 Jan. 2021 (Click below to see full schedule).

The 2020-21 Student Project Management Team: Nisha Gill, Henry Challen, Isabel Diavolitsis, and Katerina Simantirakis

The 2020-21 Forum Alumni Participants:
Ben Barrett-Forrest, Heather Cohen, Laura Collinson, Nathan Cupido, Anna D’Angela, Kayla Esser, Shawn Fazel, Suzy Flader, Alessandra Gage, Michael Hewlett, Michelle Hudson, Larry Innes, Caitlin Jago, Kristin Janson, Louise Jessup, Matthew Jordan, Leanna Katz, Ian Philp, Prav Pillay, Meghan Provost, Anu Rao, Ashley White, Catherine Wiebe

2020 Forum Learn More

The 2019-20 Forum took place on Saturday 29 February 2020 from 10am-4pm at the David Braley Health Sciences Centre. See coverage here: A Leap Day to Remember: Arts & Science 2020 New World of Work Forum.

The 2019-20 Student Project Management Team:
Julia Menezes, Ryan Edwards, Emma Yim, and Gillian Young

The 2019-20 Forum Alumni Participants:
Mark Belan, Erik Brown, Stephen Clare, Heather Cohen, Monika Dutt, Jon Farrow, Shawn Fazel, Simon Gooding-Townsend, Tushar Mehta, Bruce Miyashita, Corey Osborne, David Sandomierski, Kerry Scott, Nisha Thampi, and Fiona Woticky


2019 Forum Learn More

The 2018-19 Forum took place on Saturday 2 March 2019 at the David Braley Health Sciences Centre. See coverage in McMaster’s Daily News: Artscis Past & Present Come Together at the 2019 New World of Work Forum.

The 2018-19 Student Project Management Team:
Sarah Brooks, Luiza Araujo, Michelle Zilbergerts, and Maanvi Dhillon

The 2018-19 Forum Alumni Participants:
Asim Alam, Vass Bednar, Sunanna Bhasin, Erik Brown, David Campbell, Nathan Cupido, Anna D’Angela, Mack Gillies, Richard Hendriks, Leanna Katz, Bruce Miyashita, Emma Mulholland, Prav Pillay, Rebekah Pullen, Varun Puri, Erica Roebbelen, and Jane van Koeverden

2018 Forum Learn More

The 2017-18 Forum took place on Sunday 4 March 2018 at the McMaster Innovation Park. See coverage in McMaster’s Daily News: Arts & Science Program Holds Inaugural New World of Work Forum.

The 2017-18 Student Project Management Team:
Danielle Canagasuriam, Nick Maizlin, and Sophia Silverton

The 2017-18 Forum Alumni Participants:
Jackie Brown, Heather Farnworth, Cary Ferguson, Evan Jones, Stephanie McLarty, Bruce Miyashita, Erin O’Neil, Shohreh Soltaninia, and Emily Trudeau